Bleach Pen Art

Hello Everyone! Here’s a fun craft for the summer – decorating a shirt or towel. The following are detailed instructions to help you make one…and wear your own art.

photo 1-1

Supplies:

  • Bleach pen (I paid $1.50 at Target)
  • 1 shirt (approx. $3.15 at Wall Mart) Best with a dark color!
  • Stencil/optional

How to do it:

  1. First you should probably practice on an old shirt or towel, make sure to put a piece of cardboard underneath it!
  2. Lay the stencil on the shirt that you chose. I taped the stencil onto the shirt so it wouldn’t move. Then you take your bleach pen and go over your stencil. If you don’t have a stencil when you apply the bleach make sure you have a bleach pen with a point like a pen so you can draw something creative.
  3. photo 2-2After you have thoroughly applied the bleach, set it aside to lighten. Leave the stencil on it while it dries. You may have to put a second coat of bleach on your patterned design.
  4. When you have applied the bleach let it sit for about an hour and a half. Then wash it so it can completely settle.
  5. Have fun with this and unleash your creativity!! 🙂

Tips:

  • I suggest doing it outside because the bleach is bad to breath in.
  • Don’t leave the bleach on to long or it can eat away the fabric. Wash it within an hour and a half as written above.
  • photo 3Wash your hands right away if bleach gets onto your hand. For extra precaution wear plastic gloves.
  • You can really add your own spice to this craft…I added little eyes and a few bleach flowers next to the owl. Let me know how it goes!
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Byler Younts
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 12:20:22

    So cute! Might have to try this with the girls!

    Reply

    • Essi
      Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:49:01

      Thank you for commenting! I am going to try to do this with this with M and S soon as well! I already have a new technique I will have to show you when I see you again! Love you! ❤

      Reply

  2. Amanda
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 22:04:04

    I am so glad that you put this up!!! I love the pictures! Where did you get the stencils?

    Reply

  3. Anna Lynn
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 18:35:41

    Cool! That sounds fun!!!!!!! I’ll have to try it sometime!!! Where did you get this idea?

    Reply

    • Essi
      Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:53:11

      I actually got the idea off of Pinterest. There were all sorts of ways you could do it. I think it was either my mom or my idea to put it on a shirt though. See ya! Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  4. Esther byler
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 16:48:10

    What a fun project, Essie. I’ll have to keep this in mind for future shirts at work. Thank you for the idea. Love you.

    Mammie.

    Reply

  5. Julia
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 20:35:19

    I love that you put skg on it too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 00:18:51

    That is really cool. I’ll have to try that

    Reply

Leave a Reply

