Forget TV. Read…Aloud!

reading_is_fun-3845

Hello everyone! So, summer vacation is drawing to an end and there are only a few more weeks until school! Sometimes these last weeks can seem like there is nothing to do and that you just want to get back into a schedule. A lot of times the answer to most people is TV. Well lately I have found a great outlet for my time! Reading!

Now, I know your saying, “Um…I knew that” Wait! I think that reading ALOUD is more challenging and more fun and exciting. I have been reading to my siblings out loud and they are really enjoying it. It’ s better for your eyes/brain then TV is and it is actually very challenging.

You don’t know how many times I stumble over my words and sentences, how many times my sisters laugh at me because a word like “wait” turns into “wheat”…or something like that. Oh, and for you mothers reading my blog…my mom is giving me a penny a page. I just finished reading my sisters The Little House in the Big Woods. That has 238 pages in it. Hey, I just made $2.38 by reading to them! The book we are reading now is a classic Nancy Drew book (The Secret of Larkspur Lane). So, tell me if this works for you! I would love to hear about it!

Also, I’m so happy that I now have 40 “email followers” on my blog. The goal for the end of this year is 50. If you haven’t become a follower enter your email address and click the “submit” button on the right side of your screen. You will get an email when there is a new post so you can come check it out! It would be great if you could pass this around to your friends and tell them to follow as well! Thanks!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esther byler
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 22:11:08

    What a great way to connect with your siblings and make a little cash too. You love to read and this just is up your ally. And you’re right about reading out loud. It makes such a difference how someone else will enjoy the book when you use your voice to accent the highs or the lows of the story. I know you can really get that excitement in your stories. You’re such a great reader already. Keep doing this, my girl. Love you very much.. Mammie.

    Reply

  2. Essi
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 22:28:11

    Thank you! I really love doing it! Can’t wait to see you again! Love you too!

    Reply

  3. Em
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:07:49

    I am proud of you for doing this…..just don’t decide to read 1,000’s and 1,000’s of pages:-) You’ll get too expensive!

    Love you,
    Mama

    Reply

  4. Anna Lynn
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:10:21

    Great! I love reading and doing it all summer! This really is great advice. I try to read aloud when I can, although it is very hard for me to get my sister(s) to let me read to them- yes, I’ve tried! People are now asking me if I’m ready to start school- signs that school is coming soon!

    Reply

    • Essi
      Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:40:41

      I can’t believe that school is coming so soon! It seems like we just finished! You could try just reading outloud to yourself. Thats what my Sunday school teacher did…she read her Bible outloud in the morning. I find it very fun to read to myself in a quiet place (like my room or outside) it kind of make the story come alive! Thank you for commenting!

      Reply

  5. Amanda
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 12:39:31

    Love this idea! Benjamin loves for me to read him Elmo books or Thomas the Train. I absolutely love reading! It is a portal to another world, seriously! 🙂 Great job!

    Reply

    • Essi
      Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:44:40

      Thank you! So do my sisters! I just love reading too! It truly does tranfer you to new worlds and the atmospheres of people’s lives all over the world! Thanks again! =)

      Reply

  6. Ellie
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 01:15:20

    I love reading out loud myself. It helps me understand the book better. That sounds like fun to read to your sisters. We really need to get together soon! It’s been forever!

    Reply

  7. Julia
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 15:44:16

    my nephew love to have auntie nia read to him but me NO if I read it’s the abc book and then its pull all the pieces out and leave.

    Reply

  8. Sarah
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 00:17:52

    I love read it so much fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

