Boredom….Be gone!

Boredom is the sign of a small mind!  ~Dr. Salter
Wow! How many times do we complain that we are bored or there is nothing to do? A  lot! The quote above is one that all of us can take to heart. My mom came up with an idea to help us not to be bored. We have a Boredom Jar that is full of things little papers that list things we can do when we say we’re bored. Here are some examples:

photo-8

  • Reading
  • Cleaning a bathroom
  • Write a letter to someone
  • Bake something
  • Organize
  • Bringing the dog on a walk
I’ve even created my own jar that has almost 30 slips of paper with different things on each one! Most of the time boredom boils down to laziness. We just have to think of the other things we could (or should) be doing instead! If you have other activities for me to put in my Boredom Jar, or have tried this yourself, I would love to hear about it. Just leave a comment!
13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Girlview
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 20:58:34

    I would love to add more to your bordome jar…..iron clothes, do laundry, sweep, vacuum, cook dinner, massage your parents, mow the grass, trim the bushes, change the oil in the car, hummmm…what else can I add? I am kidding of course. Love you! ~Your Royal Highness…Mom~

    Reply

  2. Anna Lynn
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 00:12:01

    Wow! Good thinking! I’ll try this myself! One thing I like to do when I’m bored is sing songs. One year, Ellie and I set a goal of singing through the hymnal by the end of the school year. Some songs were a challenge, some were more fun, but all of them were a good way to use our time! We eventually finished… a little late, but we did. It was fun, and it was good to learn songs I’d never heard!

    Reply

  3. Esther byler
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 03:04:31

    I think this is an excellent way to keep the boredom’s at bay. You could also add,” write a journal full of beautiful things about your ” wonderful Gran”. Of course that would take a while to do as there is just so much to write about. Hehe. No, really. I have seen this jar and I love the idea. Your mama is quite a thinker. Love you lots, my sweet Essie. Mammie.

    Reply

    • Essi
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 01:41:38

      Hahaha! I could do that I suppose…but there just just aren’t good enough words to describe you! 🙂 Love you SO much!

      ~Essi

      Reply

  4. Amanda
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 21:21:30

    Ooh! I love this idea! I definitely need to make myself one of these! 🙂 Hope to see you at co-op this week!

    Reply

  5. Anna Lynn
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 19:18:44

    By the way, please read my reply about your response to my comment on the banana bread recipe below this post. I wanted to clarify something you were a little mixed up about.

    Reply

  6. Anna Lynn
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 20:04:18

    (I put that on your most recent post so that you would notice it.)

    Reply

  7. Julia
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 20:33:31

    wow this sound different. I’m going to miss you a co-op 😦

    Reply

  8. Korky
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 00:24:47

    That is so cool! I’ll have to try it!

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 00:16:52

    Hi Celine It’s Sarah
    I think that is really cool maybe I’ll try it

    Reply

  10. Korky
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 22:40:35

    Hey!!!!!!!!!! My sis has a blog and needs some people to follow her=)
    You don’t haf 2 unless you REALLY like her blog. Anyone else who reads this can follow 2=) Here is the link: spoonringthing.wordpress.com
    We sssssssssoooooooo need 2 get together=) E-mail me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

